Childhood comfort

People generally have those comfort foods they turn to. I don’t have a lot of them as I’m more prone on a bad day to just go with a cup of hot canned soup.

I do have a couple, however, and although I don’t follow most cooking recipes, I usually follow baking recipes. Usually.
We have a childhood favourite, and they are our mom’s ‘Uncooked Cookie’ recipe.

She has different variations, and we each use those different variations, but because I am in her house, I have her original recipe!

So you will need some milk…
DSC_4222
…and butter and sugar. Throw that on the heat ’til it melts, and then let it boil for about a minute. Longer than that it tends to burn.
DSC_4208On the side, combine your rolled oats and cocoa!

DSC_4209Mix it well!
DSC_4210When the butter, sugar and milk are boiled, mix in your oats and cocoa mixture. Add some vanilla. Be sure to add more oats if it is a little too moist.
DSC_4211Be careful NOT to burn yourself. Like I did.
DSC_4216Put down some waxed paper, and spoon it out with some tablespoons!
DSC_4213Nice neat rows.
DSC_4212Let sit until they are good and solid, but still gooey.

Then EAT and enjoy. I recommend with some milk.

I remember helping our mom with this recipe when I was a bit shorter, so it’s always a sweet experience in more ways than one whenever I make it.

Like mom our moms awesome decor? Inspiring right!?

Like our mom’s awesome decor? Inspiring right!?

Mom's Uncooked Cookies

  • Servings: 2 dozen cookies
  • Difficulty: easy-peasy
  • Print

Ingredients

3 cups rolled oats
6-8 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup butter
2 cups sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Directions

Lay long sheets of wax paper on a flat, cool surface (this is where your cookies will set, so make sure tiny fingers or helpful pets can’t get to them). Combine oats and cocoa in a bowl, mixing well. Set aside. In large sauce pot, combine milk, butter and sugar. Stirring constantly, heat on medium-high heat. Bring to a boil. Let boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and immediately add vanilla and dry mixture to the pot. Stir until combined. Using tablespoons, gently place mounds of dough on the prepared wax paper. Let the cookies sit until they are set. Enjoy with a glass of milk!

~ Andreah

One thought on “Childhood comfort

  1. Thank you!… I love this recipe. And yes over the years I modified it here and there, more oats sometimes, definitely more cocoa…. but the original is the best 🙂

    Actually I acquired the recipe from my mom.

    When she was in High School she went to convent school, yes I said convent. That is where the girls went to school in the 1940’s. NO Boys lol….. she had a class for cooking and this is one of the recipe she had written in her exercise book.

    My memory of cooking with our mom was the night before our trips home to New Brunswick from Ontario, (we would leave a stupid o’clock, sleep in the car while my dad drove all night) we (yes my brothers were involved) would help our mom make these. The best part is the stuff that sticks to the sides of the pot, they get hard fast and we would scrap and eat…. mmmmm

    It is precious moments like this that bind us through the generations….

    So this is not my recipe but my mom’s and not sure were she got it from but tradition lives on.

Leave a Reply

