Top three Christmas memories…so far!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year everyone! This will be the last of our posts to tide you all over until the new year. We will be off with our families making lots of memories, eating a ton, traveling and getting LOTS AND LOTS new blog posts to write about. So let’s make this post about Christmas past as we bring on the present(s) (ha! did you get it? Presents? Because it’s Christmas?)

There have been three that have certainly stuck out over my many trips around the sun…so let me waste no time and get started counting these Christmas/New Year’s memories down!

Holiday memory numero 3

When we were younger we used to only decorate our tree on Christmas Eve. Now that I think about it, it was probably more so my mom and dad didn’t have to deal with the messy needles for a long time; however, we would put on a Christmas movie, get into our pj’s from last year if they still fit, and sometimes even if they didn’t fit. Snuggled up on the couch, we would all get our little set of decorations that we acquired over the years. Dad would lie on the couch and wouldn’t move until all the decorations were on the tree, then he’d peel himself out of his spot in the corner of the sectional to place his Snoopy on the top of the tree right beside the angel. As our family changed over the years our tradition had to change. So now we have the annual trimming of one of our Christmas trees!

Big ol’ number 2 Christmas memory

The first time I was introduced to Cody’s family in Brampton was Christmas. We had just started dating and I was a little nervous. I mean, is everyone’s family as crazy and loud as mine? Will they like me? Looking back now I have no idea why I was so nervous. His family is so amazing and inviting, they are loving and I felt totally at home.

Every family event Auntie April gets Lindt chocolates specific for the event. Snowmen, or Santas for Christmas. Turkeys or leaves for Thanksgiving. Eggs or bunnies for Easter. Either way, after my first Brampton family event, everyone knows that they should just give me their chocolates, because one way or another I was going to end up eating them.

Family

NUMBER ONE!!!!

Was two years ago. Cody and I woke up prepared to spend the day with his mom, I was super excited this year because I was SO excited to give Cody is Excalibur cross-bow! Yup I had outdone myself that year! Early in the morning, around 6, I felt Cody get up, which isn’t unusual – I thought he would be making Christmas coffee. When he came back up and cuddled in he squeezed a little tighter. I snuggled in thinking we would just go back to sleep. Cody was restless and didn’t fall back asleep. At around 7:30 Cody started to whisper in my ear and he finally went downstairs to make coffee for us. He came back up and wanted to go down stairs to cuddle on the couch and watch some Christmas morning TV, which doesn’t exist people!!!!! We weren’t sitting on the couch long when Cody asked me to go and get him something from the fridge. I obliged! I went into the kitchen and opened the fridge, grabbed what I had come for and turned around. There was Cody on one knee and he looked so nervous! I asked him what he was doing. He was dumbfounded! How did I not see it?! He told me to go back in the fridge and look again. I opened the door and there sitting in front of a beer in the fridge on the top shelf RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY FACE was a ring! THE ring!!!!!!! He asked me if I would marry him, he told me he loved me and wanted to be with me for the rest of our lives. I was so happy, and excited and shocked that I didn’t even reply, I grabbed the ring and put it on my finger and grabbed Cody!

The Ring

Best

Christmas

ever!!!!!!!!

Those are my favorite memories. Maybe this year, one of them will be knocked into fourth place.

‘Til the New Year everyone!

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

~ Jacqui

One thought on “Top three Christmas memories…so far!

  1. The trimming of the tree on Christmas eve started with your Dad’s and my first Christmas as a newly married couple, yup we got married three weeks earlier, moved into our new apartment on December 23. As we were the only married couple we had decided to host our orphan unmarried friends (all Dad’s friends). When they arrived on the 24th they had gotten to drinking and the unmarried fellows decided we needed a tree and to mark the occasion each guy had to wear an funny looking tie and they did (wish I had pictures it was hilarious). So off we went, guys with saws in hand, to a spot where Brian, one of your dads oldest friends instructed us where to go as there were some amazing trees. When we arrived to the spot there was nothing but a large forest of pines. “they were here five years ago.” With great laughter we asked Brian to look up…. there they are. Next thing we knew he had shimmed up the one tree, chopped of the tops and sent it down to the others on the ground along with himself. See Brian, while standing on a breadth of branches, sawed the trunk from under his feet. So once we got it home to our new apartment, we decorated it and so began the Christmas eve tradition. It was modified over the years, worked out great when Julia was born two years later on Dec 12… and so with small modifications here and there the tradition continued. Until we make new memories and traditions.

    Christmas is a time for loving each other, looking for the best in each other and keeping the family fires burning. thank you for the new traditions 🙂 Mom

Leave a Reply

