WVS Gift Guide for the Big Kid at Heart

I am fortunate enough to have someone that I find it incredibly easy to choose gifts for. Not only is it because we’ve been together like a bajillion years so I know him pretty well, but also because it’s so much fun to buy things for him.

Michael, is my big kid at heart. Not only does it make the gift buying process enjoyable, but also the giving – his sincere gratitude and love for my thoughtfulness is pretty rewarding in itself. I’m always so excited for the day he opens his gift that I almost burst with anticipation – and that’s if I don’t slip and tell him what it is weeks before I’m supposed to give it to him.

Much like Julia, I too already have Michael’s gift for Christmas,  (seriously, this should be noted, then re-read, because this is a miracle of Christmas in itself – Hallelujah!) however, if I hadn’t completed the first Christmas miracle of 2014, here are a few things I might have gone with instead, for the big kid at heart:

1. Toys: in our house, toys means an entirely different thing than traditional children’s play things. And get your mind out of the gutter (JQ, I’m looking at you…), it doesn’t mean what the other half of you are thinking now. Toys for Michael and I mean parts/upgrades/additions to our trucks or the boat.

Anything from new seats for the boat which range from $20 – $ridiculous.

IMG_0351

These Sport Master Blue and Grey centric style fishing boat seats go for roughly $100/seat

Or a light rack for his new project, the 4Runner:

IMG_0352

This 10″ Baha Rack Lightbar sells for roughly $200-250 – don’t forget the lights!

2. Video Games: depending on your budget, a video game or even console is perfect for the guy that enjoys his down time by kicking a little ass. Make sure you know which ‘type’ of gamer they are as I have learned they are usually faithful to or desire a certain brand of system.

If I wasn’t so freaked out about the voice, movement, placement, pretty much spy camera and microphone features, I might be one to upgrade Michael to the new XBox One…might.

Sells for $399 at most retailers

Sells for $399 at most retailers

For now he’s just going to have to settle for one or two of the games on his wish list.

NHL 2015 sells for $69 at most retailers

NHL 15 sells for $69 at most retailers

3. The Coolest Book in the World: I knew instantly that Michael would go crazy for this book the moment I laid eyes on it. It was just SO cool!

What book you ask? This book:

Sells for $30-50 at most retailers

Sells for $30-50 at most retailers

Filled with facts, trivia, and a ton of how-tos – like all of the information you could ever want about famous battles in history and even step by step instructions for building  a go-kart – The Dangerous Book for Boys is a must have.

Even how to do a coin trick

Even how to do a coin trick

See? So cool.

4. Pellet Gun: I don’t know very many people (don’t worry, I know they exist!) that don’t enjoy setting up a target or two and taking aim with a pellet gun.

IMG_0358

Pure joy while gazing at his Red Ryder Air Riffle

And I know for sure that my big kid at heart looked just like Ralphie on Christmas morning when he opened his.

IMG_0357

Crossman Optimus Air Riffle with Scope sells at Cabela’s for $180

Whoever you’re buying for this Christmas, I hope above all you are spoiled with love, laughter, and sweet memories galore.

~ Toni

One thought on “WVS Gift Guide for the Big Kid at Heart

  1. The above book is brilliant my brest friend picked it up years ago – it’s a source of dangerous adventures. Adult type boys with too many beers may decide to try some of that out but the english and math sections where they explain CV and i.e. is really neat.

    You can get the XBox One without the spy cam and you can set it up to not spy on you. I’m just saying because we just got ours and it’s been a blast – I may be getting the Mrs Just Dance 2015 for the holiday… maybe.

Leave a Reply

