Baking adventures with Andreah

I am not a great baker.

I once wanted to be a chef, but I never liked baking all that much. That, and whenever I think about baking I think of the mess I have to clean up after…not pretty.

But I do have a few choice recipes in my repertoire that I like, and a good, simple applesauce cake is one of the best things I can bake.

This one has no eggs and I also made a lot of it as a quick breakfast for Joe, because apparently he doesn’t like cooking in the morning (silly man).

Baking!_001

I made my own applesauce out of a jar of homemade pie filling my Elena gave me. But any applesauce can be used.

Baking!_002
Really simply done, you just boil it down and mash it/blend it.

Baking!_003
Mix together the butter and sugar and applesauce.

Baking!_004
Flour!

Baking!_005
It looks more like dough than a batter; strange, but at least you can see it will be spongy!

Baking!_006
See? Spongy!

Baking!_007
After 40 minutes you have deliciousness.

Baking!_008
So yummy and moist!

I’m a basic baker, but this one has minimal cleaning, so it’s one I don’t mind.

I hope, dear readers, you get to eat cake!

~ Andreah

Simple Applesauce Cake

  • Servings: however many pieces you'd like!
  • Time: 55 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy-peasy
  • Print

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1 and 1/2 cups chilled applesauce
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 /2 tsp of allspice
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350˚ F. Grease and flour a 6×13 inch or 8×8 in pan. Cream butter and sugar together. Add applesauce and mix well. Stir in flour, baking soda and spices. If you’re using nuts, fold them in gently. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 40 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Enjoy hot or cold!

Adapted from Joanna’s Applesauce Cake I 

Leave a Reply

