Wintery wonderland photo tips

My sisters gave me an assignment for this week’s blog post.

I love them and their ways of guiding me to my goals that I set for myself, although sometimes I hate to admit it.

Anyways so I was given a task…
Task

Then I thought about my teachers in college preparing us for every situation, especially snow. In fact, when my three friends and I decided to do our winterscape assignment, we decided to go out in a blizzard and some of us *cough* *Kate* *cough* decided it was a good idea to go into a field with two and a half feet of snow and get stuck!

For this post, I wrote out my list of stuff I was told to remember, and asked my friend Hanna to model for me. Because she loves me, she said yes!

Without further ado, here is my list of do’s and don’ts for this wintery wonderland we call home!

1. DRESS WARM!
Hanna_002
Yes, you may look a little silly, and your subject may want to have their coats off at times, but it is cold, and we don’t want to be blue in photos, even if that parka hides your figure, and makes you look boxy! Bring it anyways! Between shots, bundle up, drink some warm beverage and take it easy.

2. Remember COLOUR!!!
Hanna_006
Do not wear white in winter for photos. Cream is not bad. But, if you want your photos to look amazing, try for at least a pop of colour. Hanna had her red coat on and it was perfect against the stark background.

3. Keep an eye on backgrounds.
Hanna_003
Now this one is a year round one, but it has two meanings in winter for me. Be aware of what is in the background! You may think the photo looks amazing, but after when you are inside perusing your photos and see that you have trash cans in the background, you might be kicking yourself. I also bring up background because they can help you! Not just by adding to your subject matter, but also as a windbreaker! Use that wall to shield you from the wind! See that big maple over there? Yeah that tree! Have them lean against it and ta-da! Cuts out that snow glare and helps them see you instead of squinting at you! Which brings me to my next point…

4. Ah! Snow glare! Over exposure!
Hanna_005
The snow is white. I don’t think I have to tell you that, but I feel the need to remind you of it. Photographers use these things called reflectors – they come in gold, silver, white, and a couple other ways, but those three are my favourites. Taking photos in the snow is like stepping out into one big reflector! Just be aware your subject can look a little too ethereal with the help of all that snow! You are then over exposing your photo, which is not good. You can usually change the settings on a simple point and shoot camera, which are set for a bunch of different surroundings. Let them help you. Just remember that sometimes standing on the snow looks like you are standing on the sun, so use your presets or a light meter for your DSLR (Digital Single Lens Relex). They actually have light meters you can download for your phone if you don’t want to spring for the $100+ ones! Amazing, I know!

5. SUN POSITION
Hanna_004
It is so not fun getting your photo taken and having to squint through the sun at the photographer. Keep an eye on the sun position and change it up. Even moving three feet to your left (or right) can help you and your person. Hanna couldn’t stop laughing when I told her I had to blind her with the sun for a ‘what not to do’ photo.

We live in Canada, where we get snow for about 50% of our year, and I hope these tips can help you out with all your picture taking needs!

A huge thank you to Hanna for being my model – you were lovely! Even with the blinding light.

See! Nice photo, and I followed my tips!

See? Nice photo and I followed my tips. I love how you can see the snow falling!

~ Andreah

P.S. If you want more tutorials or have photography questions, leave a comment on this blog, and I’ll do my best to answer!

Leave a Reply

