A day in the life: Jacqui edition

My morning starts with feeling Cody get out of bed. Some mornings it’s earlier than others, but on this particular morning it’s at 5:40 am. I hear him rummaging in our room which has not been cleaned in months due to work and life. Then he makes his way over to me and I get two kisses and an I love you before he leaves. Bacon then takes advantage of his warm spot and here is where the battle for me to get up begins.

Wake up....  notice it's dark out ... when did that happen?!

Wake up…notice it’s dark out…when did that happen?!

My alarm is set for 6:05 – I couldn’t tell you why I asked for the 5 extra minutes in the morning, but it doesn’t make a difference. I lie in bed with my two pups, Bacon and Hendrix, until the very last absolute second. They are such good cuddle buddies – it makes getting out of bed a lot harder.

Don't we look motivated

Don’t we look motivated?

More motivation

More motivation

When I get out of bed, it means outside time as the dogs don’t get up with Cody. I make my way downstairs and turn on the coffeemaker, make myself a delicious cup of “wake the hell up” and then me and the dogs head outside.  If I didn’t spend too much time procrastinating in bed and calculating my morning to leave me with JUSTTTTT enough time to get to work (most calculations fail as I am almost always late) , there may be a walk in the morning; however I am  not motivated in the mornings, and neither are they *thank god.*

Morning play time

Morning play time

After the morning stretch is done, it’s back inside to log on to work for a teensy bit and eat some breakfast. For the most part, it’s me looking at emails from the night before as the dogs lie underneath me trying to entice me to go back to bed – I must resist (I will probably fail horribly).

The morning continues with a shower and getting ready for work which normally includes me trying on 1000000 and one outfits and always settling on the first one I originally decided on only to notice I am now 5 minutes late for work. And here is the kicker -I live TWO…count ’em TWO…minutes from work. Literally.

I am standing out side my house - See where the light hits .... that is my work place.

I am standing out side my house. See where the light hits? That is my work place.

I am a Medical Review Officer Assistant at work, which means I get to talk to some pretty interesting people, but it’s the people I work with that make it a fantastic atmosphere. I have made some pretty life-lasting friendships. Ashley, who you all know, I met at work, and I also met Jessica, my pod-wife extraordinaire.

I took this picture without her knowing what was happening - this is my pod wife - ahaha love you Jess!

I took this picture without her knowing what was happening – this is my pod wife – ahaha love you Jess!

There are two areas in the department I am in and we are pretty secluded from the rest of the daily staff.  I specifically deal with people who have tested positive during their drug tests and are required to speak with the Medical Review Officer.

It can get pretty stressful at times, which is why I am so happy I have some pretty fantastic ladies who are there with a chocolate bar, a coffee, a hug and so much friggen support!

That's better!

That’s better! Jessica and Teresa! Two of the fantastic people I work with!

I work in a cubical – I have put in my request for an office with a view, but for now I guess this will do!

IMG_1853[1]

My desk – nothing special, but I spend more time here than at home, or in my bed…that thought haunts me!

Once work is done, I go home to relax. It’s goose season, so it means that Cody won’t be home when I get there and it’s up to me to decide on dinner! I recently bought this amazing recipe book called Looney Spoons, so tonight, since I have the house to myself, I have decided to tackle a new recipe! Baked Fried Chicken! Seriously you should go and buy the book, it has so many fantastic recipes. I have already made three and Cody loved all of them!

IMG_1824[1]

This chicken was fricken goooood.

Dinner is done just in time for the handsome fella to come home, which means dinner and couch time with our family to wind the day down.  Man I picked a good night to let you guys in on!  I know my life is pretty glamorous.

My family <3

My family ❤

And then off to bed we go, to do it all over again. Pretty fantastic huh? I live it and I love it.

~ Jacqui

One thought on “A day in the life: Jacqui edition

Leave a Reply

