5 Struggles only busty girls will get

While there are certain advantages to being ‘chesty‘, there are also quite a few downfalls to this genetic trademark the ladies of my family are all too familiar with:

1. Physical activity: Running, jumping jacks, trampolines, burpees, jumping in general, horse back riding, speed boating…really bouncing of any kind is dangerous, tends to hurt and is hard to control with even the most state of the art sports bras money can buy. Which leads me to my next point…

2. Shopping: button up shirts, bathing suits, bras, sports bras, thick knit sweaters, cowel neck anything, dresses. Being busty means that all of the listed items (and more I am sure if I spent enough time thinking about it) are difficult/impossible to purchase. If it’s not v-neck – but not too deep of a v-neck or else you risk being scandalous – you can’t buy it and don’t even think about wearing a sweatshirt or you risk looking like a blob with no definition from your collar bone to hip bone. It’s always a relief when you are able to find a store that carries items of this nature that can be made to work and you’ll buy one in every colour.

3. Stomach sleeping: I am a stomach sleeper – more precisely, I am a modified stomach sleeper. I miss being able to sleep flat on my tummy. Now, I have to do the one hip and one shoulder prop with support of a pillow or a Michael, or a gathered duvet, or sometimes even a giant puppy. I have been known to forget/have a temporary lapse of sanity and attempt to bring back the tummy sleep. I am quickly reminded how uncomfortable it is and have to adjust.

4. Seatbelts: You would think that the height adjustment capability in most later model vehicles would have been the saving grace for us chestier ladies when it comes to the battle of the belt. I regret to inform you, it did not. Regardless of which notch the height is set at, it is never quite comfortable directly across your chest. It falls in between the ladies, it slides underneath them, it slips on top of them – that damn thing wanders all over, never really convincing me it will be able to do its job should I happen to need it.

5. Eye contact or lack thereof: I guess boobs are like unicorns, because some people stare at them as though they are such rarities to encounter. I cannot count the number of times I’ve argued in my head between irritably thinking “I have eyes you know”, and “Shit, there could be a stain on my shirt” while talking to someone who has displayed the inability to keep their eyes from wandering. A quick glance I can understand. But setting up camp and living there all day? That is just unacceptable.

~ Toni

One thought on “5 Struggles only busty girls will get

Leave a Reply

