Trying to stop the madness AND plan a wedding!

When a woman prepares for the the birth of their child, they call it nesting. Setting up the nursery, stocking up the closet with clothes, and generally preparing to welcome their bundle of joy.

As I sit here and write, I wonder if there is the equivalent term for a woman who is planning their wedding?

I only ask as I am slowly sinking into the tulle, colours, dresses, and lace. I am preparing for the big day and I am slowly going crazy. Cody and I want our guests not to have to worry – we both are not froufrou people – however when we discuss the wedding, we have two VERY different views.

The discussion of music and entertainment was brought up. I asked Cody if he knew any DJ’s. I love the feeling a good DJ gives a wedding or event – they feed off your energy, play requests and just help with the atmosphere. When I asked him, Cody’s response was not a shock (he is pretty easygoing) – make a good playlist full of songs we love, plug an iPod into a dock, and the party will be  rocking all night long

I calmly folded my hands, swallowed the laugh I wanted to burst out in, and muffled the “ARE YOU KIDDING?” I explained my point of view, and asked Cody if he could take on the finding of an affordable DJ.  I get where he is coming from, but when he said that I heard a list of things to be done.

  • Need to get an iPod dock loud enough to play for every one to hear
  • Need to make playlist, a good playlist, full of songs that everyone will like
  • Need to remember the iPod dock and iPod on the day of the wedding aside from all the other things I will have to remember
  • What if someone wants to request a song? You stop the music, and then there is that awkward quiet?

My first response was a little dramatic, and not needed at all – to the love of my life and simplest Cody, it’s less expensive and easier than finding a DJ.  To me it is one more thing to do.

I have noticed a pattern – this is my response to a lot of planning details. When something does not go my way, I simply want to scream and throw a tantrum. I fear that the Bridezilla is coming out in me and I am trying OH SO HARD to muffle her! Tell her to calm down! CALM DOWN!

Aside from the crazy, as you could tell I have started the planning and the excitement in my stomach is building! Every chance I get I talk about our wedding and it sends my heart aflutter! (I had it checked, it’s just a feeling, my heart is fine MOM!)

We have some of the big things taken care of, including our BEAUTIFUL venue! A friend’s family home has a beautiful barn on the property. We are so lucky that they offered it to us to hold our nuptials, and we are forever thankful to Cindy and Dave!

Our Beautiful Venue <3

Our beautiful venue ❤

Our wedding planning, if anything, has shown me so far how loved Cody and I are! My oldest sister and one of the most amazing women I know, Julia, is designing and creating our invitations! I love her I love her I love her! Below is a a little glimpse of what she has started to plan for us. SHE IS CREATIVE!

A Little sneak peak!

A little sneak peak!

I am also channeling my creative side and finding unique ways of bringing some country chic into our wedding – if you didn’t get the theme we were going for!

Some Decor Options!

Some decor options!

I promise to post more photos and keep you updated on my crazy! I know I am not alone in the crazy – but someone has to let their freak flag fly!

~ Jacqui

2 thoughts on “Trying to stop the madness AND plan a wedding!

  1. It brings me to tears when I think of anyone of my babies getting married…. and true to form I cried when reading this…. oh my need to buy stock in Procter and Gamble…:) Love you and so excited for the planning… and the big day!

  2. Pingback: Married my Mr. Wright | Weather Vane Sisterhood

Leave a Reply

