The dogs ate my blog post

I have been trying to write this post for 2 days.

I sleepily curl up outside in my oversized adirondack chair, early morning, Sunday-sun streaming through my backyard jungle, steaming coffee and trusty iPad in hand.

Morning in my jungle

Morning in my jungle

I sit with the purpose of writing this week’s post – which is really supposed to be done on the Friday, but I have an in with the editor-in-chief (and might even have some dirt on her too), so she’s generous with allowing me my Sunday grace-period. (Thank you, Julia. You are a saint!)

iPad open, I log into WordPress and add a new post, fingers dancing along the screen, determining where to begin.

Before I can conjure up the first sentence, my gorgeous girl, Adrian, shoves her stubborn snout under my arm, whipping it into the air, nearly knocking over my untouched coffee. Her puppy-like way of saying good morning and asking for love.

Adrian <3

Adrian ❤

I give in.

We snuggle and play on the deck for over an hour until I think she should be satiated long enough to at least allow me to take a first run at my post.

Not even a minute goes by before I’m interrupted again.

Rocky, my sweet, greying, kind-souled boy, bounds onto the deck with the patient understanding that it is his turn now that his sister is done, as he flops onto his side and relaxes into his stance for expected belly rubs.

Rocky <3

Rocky ❤

Without hesitation, I give in.

Overly excited tails, eyes full of love, tongues full of unwanted baths – my sweet, sweet fur babies make me laugh, feel loved and strangely understood. If you have ever experienced the love of a dog, you know exactly what I mean.

Without a doubt

Without a doubt

After all of the puppy-loving and distracting is over, I reach for the iPad again, only to realize the time that I’ve let pass and hesitantly have to answer the demands of the day.

This week, the dogs ate my blog post – but I’m totally okay with that.

~ Toni

2 thoughts on “The dogs ate my blog post

Leave a Reply

