What no one told me about going back to work

So…

I landed a job. A great job. A job that I am really enjoying.

I started a few weeks ago and let me tell you, there are a few things that no one told me about going back to work after being off from traditional work and nannying for my sister.

1. It doesn’t get easier, you get better: Let me explain. I once wrote about being the new girl and I’d like to change my opinion on the matter – it’s not that it gets easier, it’s that I get better at it. Whether it be school, a group of friends,  Michael’s co-workers or a new company and team, it’s still a bit nerve wracking for me, I have just learned the ropes so I know how it goes and how I can add to or subtract from the outcome of each situation.

2. You don’t forget “how”: I truly had myself gripped in fear that I didn’t know if I would be as good as I had been after being off from work while Nannying for Julia. While I am confident in my experience and skill set, I was sure I was going to have to research or relearn certain things that I had not done routinely in several months. Thankfully, I was totally wrong and it was like riding a bicycle, only easier. I got into my comfort zone fairly quickly and in step with my kick-ass team that I am already loving.

Look ma, no hands!

Look ma, no hands!

3. The heartache: Missing the babies – my beautiful nieces and nephew – and how much I got to experience, witness and impact makes my heart ache. It aches so much that the first time we really got to see each other after I went back to work, I cried. Sorry – I bawled like a baby. I chalk it up to Lillian’s exclamation of “Auntie Tomi!” while running toward me, leaping into my arms and wrapping my neck into a huge hug that she just wouldn’t let go from – I was a goner. Even seeing that Isaac’s teeth had cut through tugged at my heart strings for missing the day they were discovered. Add into this the return to normalcy in how often I see my big sis, and it would be an understatement to say that I miss all of the time I was granted to be there with them.

Missed them so, so, so much!

4. How much I had really missed it: When I interviewed with the company I immediately had a good feeling about the fit of the role, the mission and purpose of the company, and my skill set being what they were looking for. This feeling only got stronger the further in the interview stage I got, and with each team member I met throughout the process. Now that I’m in my role, learning the ropes and putting together my first set of events, I can’t tell you how much I had missed being on a team, contributing to a common goal – one that I can truly get behind – and feeling of value within an organization.

I have my first big internal event coming up this week. I am nervous for it to go off without too many hiccups – there are always a few with every event that involves more than two people – but wish me luck that it plays out better than even I could hope for.

~ Toni

One thought on “What no one told me about going back to work

Leave a Reply

