Dadventures!

Father’s Day is right around the corner.

When we sisters decided to do Father’s Day posts, I truly had no idea what to write about exactly. After reading the sisters’ posts, I was moved and awed.

I thought for longer than I should have, and one thing kept popping into my mind over and over again: there is really only one thing I can say about fathers, and to do it I am going to tell you all a story.

One day, I was about 12 or 13 years old, and I was home alone with our dad. It was a Saturday and spring time. I was sitting on the couch and he came out from his office. Stretched his arms into the air, looked out the window and then turned to me.

“Wanna go get some ice cream?”

“Sure Dad, I’ll get my shoes on.”

I was thinking we were going to walk downtown to the amazing local ice cream store. So I put on my socks and running shoes and was all ready outside waiting for him.

He walked out the door and hopped into the vehicle (I believe at that time he had the Jimmy).

I was really confused – Dad likes to walk – but not thinking anything of it I got in and put on my seat belt.

Then he started driving away from town. In fact, we were going somewhere new…and I didn’t have a freaking clue where it was.

For the first time that I could remember, I had our dad all to myself. We talked the entire way there (wherever there was).

After driving for about 40 to 45 minutes, I finally asked, “Dad, where are we going?”

“To get ice cream.”

“… But, where?”

“It’s an adventure Kid; you will see.”

That was the only thing I really remember from the entire drive. That for the first time ever I got to go on an adventure.

We ended up going to Port Dover and getting ice cream on the beach and then walking around for a couple hours, just hanging out and talking. I don’t even remember half of what we said that day on the way there or back.

I do however remember I got bubble gum ice cream that was bright blue and stained my lips and tongue, and that I came home with Dad, happy and sun burnt.

I have never forgotten my first adventure.

My dad and I have not always had the best relationship (everyone has their bumps), but he gave me the greatest thing I could have asked for in my life – my love for adventures, and to just do something, even if it seems silly.

“All you can do is try, Kid.”

I carry it with me, Dad, and thank you for the best part of my life.

Andreah and Dad - Graduation Day (Another Adventure)

Me and Dad on graduation day (another adventure)

To me, being a dad is about letting your kids see possibilities. It’s about letting them have adventures and being there supporting them if they fail or if they triumph. I know Joe is going to be an awesome dad, and I know that one day, when we do embark on that brand new adventure, it is going to be everything that an adventure should be: exciting, scary, happy, sad, and a whole other range of emotions no one can even begin to describe. Dad taught me a lot throughout my life, but one thing that really stuck is the adventures.

Here’s to all the adventures, Dad!

~ Andreah

2 thoughts on “Dadventures!

Leave a Reply

