Future fatherhood fever

This week being the week before Father’s Day, the sisters are writing about fatherhood, and much like my Mother’s Day post, I am looking to the future!

In previous conversations with some of my girlfriends, the discussion of children comes up, and for those of us who do not have them, the obvious question is, “Well…do you want them?”

One statement was made more than once – “I want them, but ‘Bob’ isn’t sure he will make a good dad… So I don’t know….” (Names have been changed). This is a very truthful statement, and I am sure that every man who decides to enter into fatherhood has this doubt.

Since the beginning of the saga that is Cody and Jacqui, Cody was never shy to tell me he wanted kids. I think this may have attracted me to him more than I already was. I am so close with my sisters that I want to recreate this bond. I have always wanted kids!

Holding Isaac

When Julia first announced Sophie, my oldest niece, Cody refused to hold her… He did the same with Lillian. But with Isaac, he had already been around babies and he became more comfortable. Every time I see him with my nieces, my uterus skips a beat and I get excited for our future babies to come.

Uncle Cody

 

The duties never end

Cody was lucky enough to grow up with two dads.

Vic who is the sweetest man, willing to give the shirt of his back to anyone, never asking for anything in return. If you are lucky enough to know him, then you know what I mean! The first time I met him, I immediately was one of his own, taken under his wing, so much so that I was told to call him Dad. He made me breakfast in bed and made it known that when I was at his house, I was not to lift a finger. To this day, as soon as we get to his house, I sleep – I may not be tired, but it’s like a sanctuary from our regular hustle and bustle. Dad helped us buy our house, is always quick to the rescue when we need it and not a day goes by that Cody doesn’t talk to him.

Best friends

Now, Cody’s step dad Paul and I have not always seen eye to eye on things. But I have said to him before and I say it to him again…if it wasn’t for him, we would still be living in their basement. Whenever there is a problem with the house, we call Paul and he drops everything to help. This is why last year when he broke his foot in Florida, there was no doubt in my mind that I would help. I took him to the hospital and stayed with him until he was done – I even snuck him food after the surgery. Cody and I would go over during last summer to help around the house where it needed it, because Paul would do this for us. He is quick with advice, and quick to help whenever and where ever he can.

Paul and his Momma

Because of these two men, I have no doubt in my mind of the amazing man and father Cody will be.

Cody’s father Vic on the right and his late Grandpa on the left. Forever Cody’s biggest influences.

~ Jacqui

 

2 thoughts on “Future fatherhood fever

Leave a Reply

