Something special to me

Okay, so everyone has a thing, right?

Everyone has that guilty pleasure in their life that not a lot of people know about. Whether it is Julia and her love of gossip, or some people with their love of soap operas, everyone has one and everyone deserves one.

I have one… I have a love of web comics.

I have two that are my favourites that I read every day, and when I found them I went back and started from the beginning. I devoured and read them both through the night, and I still go back and revisit the beginning like I do my favourite books.

I love the fact that I got to see the artists grow with their followings. That their art work kept growing as well until it is the spectacular comics I read today, and they still try and improve, and are still doing as much as they can to connect to their fans, whether it is conventions or tours.

I also love how you get a glimpses into their lives every once in a while and you get to feel like a part of their lives even if only for a moment.

The first is called Questionable Content. It is by an amazing artist named Jeph Jacques.

It is about an awesome and eclectic group of friends. They live in a parallel word where there is Artificial Intelligence (A.I.), and the robots have a storyline all their own. (If you want more information check out the wiki page!)

My favourite character in this series is Hannelore, or Hanners. She has severe anxiety and mental health issues but she keeps improving and working through each one and she is happily getting better with the help of her wacky friends.

My other favourite comics is Girls With Slingshots. It is by an equally amazing artist Danielle Corsetto.

“The strip’s two main characters, Hazel and Jamie, sprung to life in a strip called Hazelnuts, the unintentional prequel to GWS. The title was derived from requests Danielle used to get at comic conventions to draw girls with guns (she sucked at drawing guns, so she drew them with slingshots).”

– Girls With Slingshots

Hazel is always stuck in the past and her best friend Jamie keeps pushing her forward. There is also the mysterious Clarice who is a librarian by day, Dominatrix by night.

There are more characters, but those are my favourite.

The thing I love about this comic is that there are so many dynamics of couples, relationships, and friendships. Each one has something special or different about them. For instance, Jamie is head-over-heels in love with a wonderful girl named Erin, but they are an asexual cuddly kind of lovely couple (I don’t know if I am explaining this just right, but I love the depth that this relationship has.)

The stories of each of the characters opens up your mind to new possibilities and gives you warm fuzzy feelings all over.

These two artists are amazing. I have been reading them for about four years now, and every time I visit these to web universes I am never disappointed.

If you want go give them some love, and hopefully you will fall in love with them like I did.

~ Andreah

Leave a Reply

