Sisterhood Spotlight: Lainey Gossip

I have a dirty little secret: I love gossip.

Celebrity gossip, that is.

I love it. It’s more than a guilty-pleasure beach-read. I consume celebrity gossip.

I can tell you that Blake Lively is in Cannes right now. I can tell you that Johnny Depp has left his long-time girlfriend and mother of his children for someone much younger and obscure. I can tell you that the reigning bachelor has fallen into the marriage trap with a beautiful, powerful, successful lawyer, not starlet (the market will be emptier without you on it, George).

And the place that I love getting my gossip? My favourite place for curating the snafus, wins, fashion fails, and questionable behaviour of the rich and famous is Lainey Gossip.

Lainey

I love Lainey.

lainey_headshot

She’s smart. She’s biting. She started from nothing and has built a business around smut. She has principles (like not covering reality stars and avoiding what she calls ‘sad smut’). And she’s a good writer.

I started reading her blog after I noticed she was a gossip correspondent on etalk, the first all-Canadian entertainment show, years ago. And I haven’t stopped.

She loves the royals. She avoids talking Kardashian. She now co-hosts my favourite daytime TV show, The Social, And she has given a TED Talk about gossip, arguing that gossip says more about us as a society, as a culture, than it does about the subjects of the gossip.

Lainey wants a school of gossip and culture studies.

Faculty of Celebrity Studies

Faculty of Celebrity Studies

I think it’s brilliant – celebrity culture has taken over our world in many, many ways. I adore that Lainey has an intellectual take on it, while serving up the guiltiest of pleasures.

If you’re looking for a smart read, a fun read, and a read that will make you come back for more, check out Lainey Gossip. Your appetite for smut will not be disappointed.

~ Julia

Leave a comment