Letting go of Shakira

No one is perfect. Everyone has their imperfections. But it seems that our own are more apparent to ourselves when we are looking in the mirror before leaving for work, or getting ready to go out.  We all have our ways of covering them up, or coping with them.

Myself, I makes jokes about my flaws, I mock myself, because if I do it, then it won’t hurt so bad when other people notice. I pointed it out to them, I am aware of my appearance, so they have to take notice of my bravery and blunt nature, and just accept it as me…right?

 

 

Here is a news flash, I wish I were thinner, and that my skin was flawless…

 

I wish I didn’t have to wax my eyebrows (damn you, Dad and those Portuguese genes)….

 

 

And so I have a prescription cream for my skin (although I will argue is does nothing), I have a grooming regime to ensure my eyebrows are two separate entities and not one, and I have started to work out.

Don’t we all have a list of things we want to change? Tweak? It’s no secret that Julia, Toni and myself have started to work out; they have introduced me to the love of running, and although I am not totally in love with it right now, I can see how when you start you just can’t stop.

For me, the joy I get from working out is the new perspective that it has given me. Before when I decided I should start working out, about the time Cody proposed, my goals were unobtainable, because not only did I want to lose weight, but I wanted to grow taller, a feat that I have not been capable of since the 8th grade, and I wanted to change my body type. I didn’t want to put the work in, I only wanted to pin pictures of women with amazing bodies and then by the power of osmosis, it would happen!

Since I started working out, I have stumbled upon more and more blogs about other people’s love affairs and break-ups with exercising and the movement to love your body at every shape on a site called Health At Every Size. The most recent I came across was a fellow blogger, Talkin’ Reckless, who publicly announced her break-up with exercising  Her post resonated with me! Not only a couple of hours earlier I was talking with one of my best friends Kim, who has been a major inspiration of mine when it comes to health and fitness, about how I was finally happy with my body, because I was not depriving myself of things, and that I understood that I will never have Shakira’s body, but rather my own version of it.

 

Today I am making better choices with what I put into my body by not focusing on the quantity but the quality. I am working out more and finding myself needing it, and wanting to work out for me. I am comfortable in my own skin, and love posting about the feats that I have accomplished!

I still have goals for my fitness; however they are realistic and I am setting myself up to accomplish them, instead of failing. I have found a new bond with the ladies I work out with – a sisterhood if you will. They motivate me when temptation is around every corner, they push me (and I need to be pushed) and they are there to cushion the fall when I stray off the path.

Like I said, I am comfortable in my own skin, and it feels AMAZING!

~ Jacqui

 

2 thoughts on “Letting go of Shakira

  1. Find your stride and pursue it whole heatedly what ever the path to healthy is. I love my work out sessions and how it makes me feel about myself. I do it for me, not my man, not my girls… for me.

  2. Aww! I was behind on reading your blogs, so I am catching up now! Feel so honoured to be mentioned in this Jacqui! You are beautiful, and I am so proud of your new outlook on things – I think it is important that all women think that way! That is healthy thinking, and I love it!
    You are beautiful, and talented and I love you girl! xoxo

Leave a Reply

