Crafty business

I love crafts. I can’t help it!

I don’t always do crafts well, sometimes they come out a bit weird, like this wallet I just did. I got bored of my wallet, so instead of rooting through V.V. Boutique, or the local Goodwill for a wallet that doesn’t have a strange smell, stains, and that I actually like, I decided to rip apart my old wallet and revamp it with ribbons and buttons (strangely two of my favourite things in the world).

I walked around the apartment looking for all my random ribbons, and found lime green, purple, red, and a blue one that I adore the colour of. I grabbed my button stash, hot glue gun, camera, and a knife and headed to the kitchen table to put it together.

This is kind of what the wallet looked like before I ripped the thing apart.

Eclectica Photo

Eclectica Photo

I found a slit in the cardboard that could have a zipper put in and can then be used as another pocket.

Eclectica Photo

Eclectica Photo

However I didn’t want to go that far, and I didn’t want to buy anything for this project. I decided to start with the lime green ribbon, and had to put it in this little slit, which required the knife to slide it in so it could be glued.

Eclectica Photo

Eclectica Photo

And then I glued it to the actual cardboard so that it wouldn’t move, slid the ends in so it was tight against every side and then reinforced everything with a little bit more glue. I burnt the ribbon ends with a lighter so the ribbon wouldn’t run.

Eclectica Photo

Eclectica Photo

Then I repeated the process with the purple.

Eclectica Photo

Eclectica Photo

The red ribbon was quite a bit crumpled, so I set my flat iron to a medium setting and flattened it so it would co-operate, then attached it to the wallet like the first green and purple ribbon, and then repeated with two blue ribbons, and then one last green.

The wallet didn’t feel complete yet. I get a feeling when the craft is done, and it just felt unfinished. So I sorted through my button collection picked my favourites and glued them on. This is the finished product, and it is definitely not one of my bests, but I like the weirdness of it.

Eclectica Photo

Eclectica Photo

It’s nice knowing that no one in the world has a wallet like mine. It’s not the neatest or best looking wallet I have made, but it’s weird and it’s all mine.

~ Andreah

Leave a Reply

