My secret ingredient

I love to move.

Staying active is one of my absolute needs; I require it to stay healthy and most of all happy.

On top of running, hiking and working out, I LOVE to dance. I blame my love for dancing on my love of and absolute need for music…or it might be that I simply cannot sit still for too long. Either way, I must dance! (Disclaimer: I have no formal training and can not be held responsible for any permanent, or disturbing  images that may be burned into your brain after witnessing said dancing.)

You will find me dancing in the morning while I get ready for my day. You will find me dancing with my nieces and nephew to any silly song that is playing. You will find me dancing in the shower…wait…scratch that – most of you will NOT find me in the shower. You will find me dancing in my truck as I drive (and no, I do not give a rat’s ass what the people who stare think – yeah, I see you!). You will find me on the dance floor at weddings until my feet hurt enough to kick off whatever ridiculous pair of heels I have chosen to wear and then continue to dance barefoot. You will find me dancing with my girls at the club on girls’ night, or even in living rooms and bedrooms as we party prep. You will find me happy dancing whenever there is good news to share. You will even find me (embarrassingly) seat dancing at a restaurant.

But my most favourite place to dance? The kitchen.

Kitchen dancing – or as my wonderful fiance has coined it, ‘T’s Making Dinner Dance Parties’ – take place in our home on a regular basis. Said fiance has often lamented that he does not understand why I always choose music over television (unless of course there is a hockey game on – then the dancing is put on the back burner…until the Habs score and the happy dancing commences…see the trend here?) as he is the master of the TV and it can usually be found on whether he is watching it or not.

Often, Michael will come home to me prepping whatever meal with music playing as I fly around the kitchen, showing off my killer dance moves to Rocky and Adrian (my two very ‘small puppies’) and often getting them to join in.

Adrian and I

Adrian and I

Rocky and I

Rocky and I

Truth be told, I absolutely believe the food tastes better if prepared while dancing, the dishes washed are somehow cleaner if I’ve busted a move (not a hip), and the house is happier with my rhythm filling the rooms.

Only outdone by a good run, dancing helps to clear my head, shift my mood, pick me up or add to an already incredible day.

I’m always looking for music that moves me, often getting lost in the worlds of SoundCloud, YouTube, 8tracks, and Hype Machine for hours. Don’t tell Michael, but if the night’s dinner is taking a little longer than usual, it’s because I have found a new artist that I can’t get enough of and pull a full on crawl for anything they have released or collaborated on.

While our fancy speaker setup (so technical) in the living room allows me to make sure our wall-sharing-neighbours LOVE us, my handsome came home from work last week with a small token of love and a sign that he fully supports my requirement to turn our kitchen into my personal dance floor – a set of little speakers for the iPad.

My adorable, yet very efficient 'kitchen speakers'

My adorable, yet very efficient ‘kitchen speakers’

While I suspect this gesture carries some underlying self-serving motive (read: I will no longer monopolize the above mentioned fancy speaker set up and main television/he’ll be able to concentrate on the chosen Xbox 360 game of the evening.), it was nonetheless sweet and of course made me break out in a saucy little dance to thank him.

My favourite kitchen dancing moments are when Michael gives into my silly ways and joins me, making simple, everyday activities into sweet, sweet memories.

Tonight when you get home from the sometimes monotonous tasks of the day, instead of settling down in front of the TV, I challenge you to throw on your favourite makes-you-move-mood-music and dance.

~ Toni

4 thoughts on “My secret ingredient

  1. You and your sisters have been dancing in the kitchen from the beginning, It brings joy to my heart, it is fun and gets everyone involved. I still do this although I miss dancing with my girls as dinner is being prepped. We turned up the music for all occasions! I still chair dance at work and I do not care who sees me 🙂 Loving the tradition Mom aka Mommita aka Momma aka Christine!

Leave a Reply

