Time, wishes, choices, and an inevitable roller coaster

“What a slut time is. She screws everybody.” – John Green*

He has a point. Do you ever notice that you feel panicked at the end of a long day, and just feel like you could have done more, or finished a project if you just had a little more time. I feel like that about long distance sistering. I feel as though I am stuck in a long day, and I will never have enough time to be there, and around for my sisters, my family, and my friends.

“The world is not a wish granting factory.” – John Green*

But what if the world was a wish granting factory? We would be able to accomplish all that we ever wanted to in a single day. We would be able to make our world a better place, and we would be able to, in my case, feel more apart of your families by choice, or families by nature.

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world… but you do have some say in who hurts you.
I like my choices.” – John Green*

But I am, in a way, happy that I miss my sisters, my family, my friends. It means that I have a lot of love spread around, and for the people who never gave up on me, and for the people who are always there for me, they are the ones I miss and I know who miss me. I am glad that even though I am hurt by the distance, and feel as though I am missing several limbs because of the absence, when I finally see everyone again, it will be a very sweet moment and I will feel emotionally full.

“I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up, my friend.” – John Green*

Right now, as I sit here typing this, I am on that roller coaster.

I understand it in a whole new perspective. That even though things are going wrong, and distance is created even more difficult by absence, and horrid timing of things breaking (the truck), I know with hope I can go see them, and soon.  Soon we will have everything righted again, me and Joe can work through this and I can see my all encompassing family again. My roller coaster is hope, and I am strapped in for the ride.

~ Andreah

*John Green is one of my favourite writers. He has a way of making a book for young adults reach out to everyone. These quotes are from one of my favourite books of his, The Fault in Our Stars, or TFiOS, as the nerd fighters say. This book is also becoming a movie and its release date is June 6th of this year.

Leave a Reply

