My affliction with winter

I know, I know – if you don’t like it move, stop complaining about winter it happens every year, blah blah blah! I get it!

Normally, I am all for winter – it marks a time for renewal when the spring comes, like a second chance or a clean slate.

Well, ladies and gentlemen…I think I have earned the right for a little bitching. Me and my skin are DONE with it!

I have eczema. Eczema is this horrible rash that comes from dry irritated skin, which is most commonly treated with a cortisone cream with a steroid in it. I have had eczema since I was a baby, and I did not grow out if it like the doctor said I would. (I’m shaking my fist at you Dr. Eddy and Toni who also had eczema and now has legs I dream of! But that’s beside the point.)

My legs are red, my whole body feels like it’s being covered by mosquito bites, and I tear my skin apart at night when I am sleeping. I don’t even know I am doing it until I get screamed at by Cody because I am rocking the bed, and not in a good way (badump-bump).

I have tried E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G under the sun that has been prescribed to me from both a dermatologist and my family doctor, and apart from making my legs radio-active and glow in the dark, the creams have left me with scarring and discolouration. I have also gone on eczema forums (yeah, they have these) to try what they have suggested. Notta! Zip! Zilch!

When I was in middle school, I would wear pants all year round just to avoid the questions from the other kids, and when I did wear a skirt or shorts, I got asked why I had so many big bites, or asked if I was contagious. Now that I think about it, I should have swiftly kicked them with my “infected” leg and then wished them well!

This winter, being especially cold and cruel, has broadened the scope of my eczema… TO MY EYE LIDS!!

For days I went to work and tried to play it off like it was nothing, until I couldn’t any more and started bringing Vaseline and my EXTREME Aveeno moisturizer.

I went without make up, I rubbed baby lotion on my skin and I started to bathe nightly in baby oil (with aloe and vitamin E) then rubbed coconut oil on my skin, all while my skin was still damp. I looked like I just had an oil wrestling match, and I was freezing cold!

So you know what … I am throwing in the towel. I give up!

Please do not be alarmed when you see a giant magnifying glass in my back yard – I’m just trying to speed up spring!

~ Jacqui (and her itchy, irritated skin!)

,20140309-210221.jpg

Leave a Reply

