Be mine, first Valentine

My oldest baby, Sophie, will have her very first school Valentine’s Day this Friday. I can not tell you the stress I am having about making sure it’s just right. 

The concept of Valentine’s Day is new for her. Since we weren’t in school for it last year, there was no pressure to make valentines, get a class list, make sure everyone feels loved, talk about the lovefest, stumble on the why we’re having a lovefest… It was so much simpler: get through the day so that Ben and I could cuddle on the couch and go to bed early like the hot married parents we are.

I asked Sophie whether she wanted to buy valentines with Disney Princesses or My Little Pony or Hello Kitty, or whether she wanted to make valentines (which really means me making valentines). She decided we (me) should make them. I asked her what colour hearts she wanted. She’s requested red hearts with a pink inside (oh good). And then I asked if she wanted me to address them or dot out the names of her 26 classmates and 14 extra people she thought of…she said she wanted me to dot them so she can trace the names.

I’m IN LOVE with the idea of all of this. Seriously. I live for crafting and glitter and love and hearts and my baby printing names like nobody’s business.

But the reality is I have to turn all of this

Valentine

into this

40 times by Friday.

We’re going to do 10 a night to spread it out. I think that’s wise. I hope it’s wise. OH MY GOSH WHAT HAVE I GOT MYSELF INTO???

I’ll let you know next week how it went.

What are you doing for Valentine’s Day? I bet it’s way less stressful than what I have planned.

~Julia

One thought on “Be mine, first Valentine

  1. Pingback: A year of blogging | Weather Vane Sisterhood

Leave a Reply

